GoXam External Drag and Drop

I am new to GoXam, so bare with me ;-)

I have a Telerik Tree right next to my GoDiagram, and I want to be able to drag in tree elements to create new nodes in my diagram.
I thought I could just register for the ExternalObjectsDropped event like this:
this.organizationDiagram.ExternalObjectsDropped += new EventHandler<Northwoods.GoXam.DiagramEventArgs>(organizationDiagram_ExternalObjectsDropped);
But I am not getting the event at all...
Could somebody tell me what the exact steps are that I have to perform to make something like this work.
Thanks a lot for the help

Are you using Silverlight or WPF?

If you are using WPF:

The easiest implementation strategy is to make sure that the drag-and-drop data is an instance of your model’s node data type.

For example, consider the case where my Diagram.Model was created as an instance of GraphLinksModel<TestData, Object, String, TestLink>. TestData and TestLink are data classes that I have defined. And make sure you have set DiagramModel.Modifiable to true.

Then you could build a TreeView where each TreeViewItem had an instance of TestData associated with it. For this example, I have built the tree in XAML and the TreeViewItem.Header is a TestData.

<TreeView x:Name="myTreeView" SelectedValuePath="Header" MouseMove="myTreeView_MouseMove">
    <TreeViewItem Header="Root">
      <TreeViewItem>
        <TreeViewItem.Header>
          <local:TestData Name="First Data" />
        </TreeViewItem.Header>
      </TreeViewItem>
      <TreeViewItem>
        <TreeViewItem.Header>
          <local:TestData Name="Second Data" />
        </TreeViewItem.Header>
      </TreeViewItem>
    </TreeViewItem>
  </TreeView>

(Assume TestData.ToString() returns its Name property, or something like that.)

The drag-and-drop could be started via:

private void myTreeView_MouseMove(object sender, MouseEventArgs e) {
  if (e.LeftButton == MouseButtonState.Pressed && myTreeView.SelectedItem != null) {